Dystimulation

Music and other modern musings

Amanda Blank!

Philly’s female misogynist, Amanda Blank, is nothing short of amazing. Her solo tracks, which have been produced by the likes of Spank Rock and Pace Rock are urban but playful, her collabs with queens of all things cool, M.I.A. and Santogold redefine the role of women in the hipster-hop and her style, well look at her. I’ve not yet seen her live but hope to grab the chance when she hits either the MTL or TO stage with Santogold in early June. Blank’s debut album I Love Youdrops July 14th and is produced by the sensational Diplo, Switch and XXXChange!

Amanda Blank – Might like you better
Britney Spears – Gimme More (Eli/Grayson Mix feat Amanda Blank)
Santogold – I’m a lady (Diplo Rmx feat. Amanda Blank)
Paul Simon – 50 Ways feat. Amanda Blank (Chipset & Devlin Rmx)

For all you Ottawa folk, rumours are flying that Paul Simonis slated to play this year’s Cisco Bluesfest!!!!

April 18, 2009 - Posted by | Gigs, Jams | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I didn’t know crap about her until the Diplo remix of I’m A Lady. I saw her last night, and she put on a great show.

    Why do you say she’s a misogynist? I haven’t read or seen anything to make me think that.

    Comment by geoff | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. I suppose if you take the term litterally, it doesn’t really make sence. But you have to admit, the girl doesn’t really speak to fondly of men. I recognize its an intentional subversion of gender roles.

    I am go to see her and Santogold this Wednesday in MTL!

    Comment by Sandy | May 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

