Dystimulation

Music and other modern musings

Yeah, they’re coming! Yeah, they rock!! Yeah, heads will roll!!!

I awoke to some pleasing news yesterday, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are closing the show at this year’s Bluesfest! Just days ago I reviewed my summer 2009 festival and show line-up, which I think is shaping up quite nicely. The roster currently includes first time viewings of Santogold, Amanda Blank, Lykke Li, Cold Play, Beastie Boys, Beast, Neko Case and Holy F*ck!, and a slew of welcomed repeat acts like, Thunderheist, the Roots, Crystal Castles, Girltalk and maybe, if all goes well, Cut Copy. Following my review, I created a shortlist of acts I wanted to see and it just so happens to include the NYC indie sensations. I am pretty excited, mostly because I am still legitimately riding the high off their most recent album, It’s Blitz, which dropped back in March.

Heads Will Roll is pretty much my fave tune on the album. Here’s a taste of what others had to bring to it. If you ask me there appears to be a little it of a concensus on the alternative interpretation.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll (Lego Beat Dark Cuts Rmx)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll (DIGIRAATII Dance Til You\’re Dead Rmx)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll (Young Live Starters Rmx)

Bonus!

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Hysteric (Acoustic)

I admit that my first review of this year’s festival was a little brash, and the lineup is settling well with me as we get closer to the date, and with this addition of course. I maintain my belief that the year is a little weak in comparison to others but I am feeling a little more relaxed than I had initially.

This year’s Bluesfest runs from July 8-19. You can check the whole line-up here.

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Gigs, Jams | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. What a line-up! Just saw Santigold and Amanda Blank last night, and YYY’s tomorrow. I don’t know much about Canadian music fests but this one looks legit.

    Comment by geoff | May 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

