Dystimulation

Music and other modern musings

Yes, I will love you tomorrow

Will you still love me tomorrow was written by Gerry Goffin and the great Carole King – the duo that also brought us the Loco-motion and Natural Woman. The ballad was originally recorded by The Shirelles and topped most major charts in 1961. Since then, it has been recorded by many great acts, including Ben E King, Laura Branigan, The Four Seasons and King herself. More recently, the song was recorded by Amy Winehouse and we now have another great performer to add to list, Lykke Li.

Anyone that knows me, knows that I have a great love for the swedish born beaut. Everything about her drives me absolutely nuts. Her voice paralyzes me, while her lyrics inspire me. The tune may not be a Li original but she does one hell of a job to make it her own. Bravo! I must admit that while Lykke’s version is sad as hell, so much that listening to it makes me want to rip my heart out, its done so well I just can’t stop myself from going back for more.

Lykki Li – Will you still love me tomorrow

Another great cover of Li’s is her take on Tribe Called Quest’s Can I kick it. The girl can throw a rhyme better than most new hip hoppers today!

Lykke Li – Can I Kick It (Tribe Called Quest Cover)

Bonus!

Amy Winehouse – Will you still love me tomorrow

November 22, 2009 - Posted by | Jams | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

