Dystimulation

Music and other modern musings

The science of typed laughter.

I have always wondered how many ha’s it took to indicate ‘genuinely funny’.
Now I know. hah.

Found at, Today and Tomorrow

March 12, 2009 Posted by | F.A.D. | | Leave a comment

Always (and All ways) at the EGG

 always-at-the-egg_march-20094

Tommi from London dropped this flyer in my mailbox for a gig over in England’s capital city and I thought I would share it. Anything to make the world a little smaller, you know?

The ‘Always Fridays’ guys have hosted some pretty big acts like the Bloody Beetroots and Bart B More, and will be playing host to AC Slater and Mark Romboy in the coming months.

If you happen to be in London be sure to check them out.

For more info, click on the image above or you can check them out on Facebook.

March 12, 2009 Posted by | Gigs | , , , | Leave a comment

DFA 1979

I must admit, I never really recognized the high-level cool factor of Toronto’s dance-punk duo, Death from Above 1979, until relatively recently. In fact, it wasn’t until I heard the myriad of remixes pumped out in the last 3 years following Jesse and Sebastien’s blog-announced break-up that I recognized the versatility and scope of their sound. And, while I am riding the honesty bus, I should admit that it wasn’t until Jesse formed MSTRKFT with DFA 1979 producer, Alex Puodziukas or Al-P, that I really took a liking to them and the novel influence they held. Still, I am not a huge DFA fan. I do love Black History Month and Romantic Rights. And I especially love what French electro duo, Alan Braxe and Fred Falke have done to BHM.

What can I say? I am a sucker for remixes.

Death from Above 1979 – Black History Month (Alan Braxe and Fred Falke Rmx)
Romantic Rights (Girls are Short Rmx)

March 12, 2009 Posted by | Jams | , , , , , | Leave a comment